Friday Five: Killer Dads in Literature

Dads in literature.

Well-Read Twenty Something

Happy Father’s Day to all those fathers out there!

Since my own father passed away six years ago, this day is rather bittersweet. Bitter in the fact that I miss him more than ever on days like this, but sweet because I love thinking of all the wonderful qualities he had as a father (I also make it a point to watch his favorite movies, drink Guinness, and eat double fudge brownies, which all help making it sweet). My dad also instilled my love for fiction, especially my love for Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, and the older I get the more I find out that his favorite authors and books are quickly becoming my own as well.

It’s usually difficult to find excellent father’s in literature, but there are a few who stick out to me as exceptional.

1.Jean Valjean, Les Miserables 

OK, I may or may not be watching…

View original post 555 more words

Leave a Reply

