How To Use Your Book as a Marketing Tool

Sample Book Marketing Pages

 

Direct connection with readers is one of the best ways to build a following. Use your book to create engagement with your followers.

The beginning and the end of the book are two great places to invite readers to connect by following your author page on Amazon, your blog, and social media accounts, and getting your next book.

Especially at the end invite readers to review your book. Keep in mind that 100 reviews with an average of 3.5 stars is better than ten 5 star reviews. This is because Amazon ranks, and therefore, shares your book based on the number of reviews not necessarily the ranking.

You can directly keep in touch with your readers by developing an email list to communicate with them in person. Send a regular update–once a month to once a quarter–telling them what is happening in your publishing world. You can include an excerpt from an upcoming book or notify them of any promotions coming up.

Amazon’s KDP direct allows you to discount your book once every 90 days. When you have several books you can stagger the promotions so that at least one happens every month.

Front Matter Author Page

First Page After Copyright page before book begins. The tone echoes the tone of the book. If the book is edgy, the page is edgy. If the book is casual and friendly, the tone is casual and friendly.
Here are the basics.
Hello (Dear reader, adventure seeker, lover of cats, etc.)
Thank you for purchasing Name of Book. I’m so glad you decided to (go on a wild ride with Main Character, learn about alkaline diet cooking, etc.)  My readers are my number one asset. As an independent author your purchase means a lot to me.
Any special anything you want to say about why you wrote this book to develop a connection with the reader who has it in his hand right now.  Main Character is a favorite with readers/came to me in a dream/is my alter ego, etc. Or, an alkaline diet is a proven way to fight cancer, I spent months researching….
Ask for engagement…
Follow me on – my blog
I spend a lot of time on (Social Media-pick one) be sure to follow me there…
Members of my (Name of Your Newsletter) get all the latest updates on publishing specials, new books, special member-only excerpts. Everyone who is a member gets exclusive access to (a free book, my 10 best recipes, etc.)
Thanks again.
Now turn the page to enjoy Name of Book.

End of Book Page

This page is even more important than the front page. The reader has just finished reading your book and is in the afterglow of your world.
In many ways the message of the welcome page repeats but with a call to review the book and a strong call to get updates about future books by joining the newsletter/email list.
Thank you again for purchasing Name of Book. I’m so glad you decided to (go on a wild ride with Main Character, learn about alkaline diet cooking, etc.)  My readers are my number one asset. As an independent author your purchase means a lot to me.
(Review request in your style) Thank you for taking the time to read [title]. If you enjoyed it, please consider telling your friends or posting a short review. Word of mouth is an author’s best friend and much appreciated. Thank you, [author name].
Again, any special anything you want to say about why you wrote this book to develop a connection with the reader who has it in his hand right now.  Main Character is a favorite with readers/came to me in a dream/is my alter ego, etc. Or, an alkaline diet is a proven way to fight cancer, I spent months researching….
Ask for engagement…
Follow me on – my blog
I spend a lot of time on (Social Media-pick one) be sure to follow me there…
Members of my (Name of Your Newsletter) get all the latest updates on publishing specials, new books, special member-only excerpts. Everyone who is a member gets exclusive access to (a free book, my 10 best recipes, etc.)
If you liked (Name of Book), continue the adventure/fun/diet. See all my books at (link to author page).
 
Read the first chapter of my next book/the main character series/great good advice by turning the page.
You can order the next (Name of Series, Next Book) here (link to pre-order page or your author page).  
Ciao!/Cheerio/Yours in Suspense/Sincerely
Your Name
 

Let Your Book Personality Shine

Let your personality as a human being shine through so your readers feel they have a personal connection with you.
  • Tailor the copy to the subject and tone of your book.
  • Keep it personal and fun. Dry and matter of fact does not engage your readers.
  • Play with your promotion.
  • Experiment with different versions. E-books are easy to update.
Zara Altair
The Story Bodyguard

Leave a Reply

